Endless Possibilities

The Exchange of Ideas

As I moved along in my library read through project, the next Dewey class I encountered was 100-200 Philosopy and Psychology. The exchange of ideas between human minds is a fascinating process that we may never completely understand. The more we learn, the more there is to learn. I found this section quite interesting since I have a B.S.  in Psychology and was required to study the philosophers in college. I suppose this means I know enough to be dangerous. Nonetheless I enjoyed reviewing some topics and encountering others for the first time. As you might imagine philosophy and psychology cover nearly limitless topics. Some of these topics include the reality of Heaven, dreams and their interpretations, human behavior, coping with loss, biomedical ethics, and animal rights.

Since I am no stranger to loss, I found books on coping with loss particularly compassionate. For those of us who are especially grieving the loss of  a child, books dealing with Heaven can bring tears of comfort to our eyes. When grieving for any loved one sometimes our tears are tears of grief and other times we experience tears of gratefulness for the compassion of others. Although I am primarily talking about books at the moment, I would be remiss not to point out that the library also has movies such as Heaven Is For Real and a grief group sponsored by Woodlawn Hospital that meets in our meeting rooms.

I believe that one of the greatest gifts we’ve been given is the ability to communicate and share ideas with other human beings. We can comfort and encourage while presenting new possibilities. The fact that we can see and share different perspectives about anything and everything enriches our lives, challenges us to grow, and ultimately helps us to impact our world.

9 thoughts on “Endless Possibilities

  1. As I still deal the death of a niece and a father even as a pastor I come up empty. I was not there for my family. I was not there to say goodbye. I wonder if they really knew I love them.

    I wonder in dealing with my niece if I was right in how I dealt with her. All the words I have said in the past, seemed right at the time, but now I come up empty. I wrote a post last night about my father, or at least I considered him to be. I don’t believe in talking to the dead. But it still felt empty. It is hard to be 10,000 miles from home and wonder if we will ever make it home, but even if it sounds empty. Even at my lowest part, I take consolation, that I am not alone. I pray I never suffer the lost of our only begootn son. But through this post, and article that maybe through my fault, someone else’s fault or nobody’s fault-God still understsnds.

    I find I am not as good of a pastor, uncle, son, and father as I would like to be. But thank you for a beaugiful and well written article. I found comfort in it tonight.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. As a missionary pastor from Rochester, Indiana communication is important. As Ieft and said goodbye to my parents, my dad said that I would miss somethings. I really miss pecan pie and whip cream, I miss fresh strawberry pie. But most of all I miss the Rochester Public library.

    Yeah I have had my share of librarians to not like me very much. It really wasn’t there fault, when the VHS or DVD melted in my car. Or not being able to find a movie, or a book that became lost or misplaced. Even before a relative became on the library staff, these type of things were not tolerated. In other words she would not bale me out. Where I now live we do not have a public library.

    I spent hours on the computers in the Rochester Public library from windows 3.1 to Windows 95 throgh windows 98. But never would I have guessed that I would ever miss the public library. Just one more thing, my son wants to know if you wanna build a snowman? Because he wants to know what is snow. He has lived in a tropical climate for the last five years, he is five years old, so he really doesn’t know what snow is. Isn’t communication fun.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It seems I have something in common with your son when I was around 4 or 5. I had also lived on a tropical island and I didn’t know what snow was either. I had seen it on TV, but I thought it only existed on TV! When Dad was later transferred to the States, we moved to Indiana. I got sick during the first snowfall and couldn’t go out to play in it. My sister felt sorry for me because I couldn’t go outside to play, so she brought me a snowball! She told me not to let Mom see it because she would get mad that snow was in the house. My thoughtful sister then instructed me to hide the snowball under my blanket. Having never seen snow before, I had NO IDEA it would melt. I fell asleep and woke up sopping wet. Let’s just say that Mom was a bit mad even though I followed my sister’s instructions!

      Liked by 3 people

  3. This was a nice post, I am unsure about the loss subject. We all deal with it in so many different ways. It would be a great idea for any of you to look into this for those who have teens. There have been a great deal of loss in the school systems, TVHS and TVMS. All from either accident or tragic loss of a member due to depression. I still cannot fathom what my kids go through lately when they hear of another student who passes. It is so very hard, my kids do not cope like I do. They seem to have a more apathetic view anymore, which I do not blame them. It is hard to see this happen so many times through out the school year, and even harder when you knew the student. The recent passing of the guidance counselor due to an accident was hard on the students and staff. They boys said teachers were so upset classes did not go on, some just cried others just sat in class. He was a great man, and it is hard to know how to explain these things.

    I would like to give a kudos to the band teacher Ms. Riner, of the school. Last year a fellow flutist passed in a winter car accident. The school was so distraught. She did a whole concert in her memory, she was a Beatles fan. So the entire night, instead of Holiday theme, they played solos, ensambles, and whole band songs. The members were strong, but you could see some tears, and it was so touching. The school also did fund raising for her and her fathers funeral.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are right that people do deal with loss in different ways. I also agree that there could be something else done to help our area teens cope.

      Many times people do cope through the arts. The concert in memory of a fellow band student was an extremely thoughtful gesture on the part of the band teacher. I do have to wonder about all the budget cuts in the area of the arts that schools are experiencing and the way it doesn’t leave room for expression for many students. It would be interesting to see if there was some sort of statistical correlation between rising depression and these sorts of budget cuts; just a thought.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Just yesterday I was talking to a neighbor about how I often don’t cry over the loss of a loved one until I see someone else cry. It has been an enigma to me until I read this post. Perhaps I am just grateful for the compassion of others. My fear has been that it has somehow been some sort of selfishness on my part. Or could it be that I am so numbed out that I only allow compassion for others and not compassion for myself? Thought provoking.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think the important thing to remember is that everyone deals with grief differently. Perhaps you are just grateful for the compassion of others. There could be some other explanations as well–such as religious beliefs. For instance if you believe that you loved one is now in Heaven some people can think about that as their loved one is just away from home for awhile and you will meet up later. The very fact that you are thinking and wondering if you are being selfish is an indicator that you are not being selfish. Selfish people don’t ask if they are selfish! The last two questions only you can answer. However, I think everyone does experience some shock–at least initially. The grieving process is very personal and I don’t think there’s any “wrong” way to do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

